Food

Since moving into my smaller apartment that lacks appliances I have had to get a little creative with my meals. The minimal space in my mini fridge for food has become a slight problem as well as the fact that my freezer can’t seem to keep my ice cream frozen, but the fridge will freeze food. Hmph. Anyways I received a very generous gift of a toaster oven at the beginning of the summer as a late birthday gift and have been using that like it is my best friend. I was thrilled to find that my toaster oven heats up to the temperature that a real oven would heat up to so I can bake things in it! For dinner the other day I made a cheeseburger, every morning I make waffles for breakfast and I even made salmon!


That’s right I made salmon in my toaster oven! I splurged at the grocery store last weekend because I really wanted to have salmon and make some avocado/mango salsa. I marinated my salmon in a simple marinade of olive oil, salt and pepper. It was quick and simple just what I wanted. It wasn’t overpowering either which I find some marinades to be. For the salsa I used 1/2 an avocado, 1/2 a mango and about 1 cup of chopped tomato. All of that was topped with 1/2 a limes worth of life juice. I would have eaten the salsa plain it was that good.
I hate to say that I had never had real mango before then. By real I mean not frozen mixed in with a smoothie. I didn’t even know how to buy a mango, and I don’t think I did buy one that was ready to be used. Oh well, at least I know for next time. It was so yummy that I know the fruit will make its way into my shopping cart once its on sale again. This recipe is definitely going to be a repeat in my book!

Leave a comment