What I’ve Been Up To

Here is my typical three week check in. I’ve had a lot going on and not much time to check in. Just this past weekend I was a part of the Baltimore Running Festival. I joined a relay team with some of my co-workers and ended up running the second leg which was 7 miles. I was really afraid because I hadn’t run since my poor performance at the Charles St. 12, but I knew I just had to go for it. I ended up running the fastest I’ve ever run and was completely shocked and so happy with it. It may not have been fast for others, but for me it was perfect. Right after I started I found myself behind two girls who were running the full marathon. I decided to stick with them as they seemed to be running a pace that worked for me. After a mile my phone let me know we were running about a 10:45 mile which again was quick for me. I usually like to take things nice and slow and don’t really push myself (it’s something I need to work on – pushing myself that is) so I was worried about being able to keep the pace. I told myself to stay with them and try to hold on to it. For the next two and a half miles i kept with them and was pleased. If I can get through three to three and a half miles I can usually keep up the pace I’m on or get a second wind. Most of the first half of the leg was through a couple of small rolling hills but for the most part downhill (my knees were really feeling that yesterday). Miles two, three, and four were all faster than the one before and I was again so happy. BUT by the time mile 5 rolled around we had finally made it into downtown and were at the last bit. Unfortunately for this leg you run past your transfer spot for another mileish and then run back. It felt like the turn around spot was never going to come. I just kept hoping for it, but never saw it UNTIL we got to the Under Armour headquarters. I was so thankful to see the turn around and knew I would be done soon. Mile six and seven were a lot slower, but by this point I was starting to wish for the transfer spot to appear. Even though they were slower when I finished I felt good. I never once through the race felt like I was going to die, which was a great feeling. I think the weather played a huge role in this. When we all met up at 6:45 it was really cold, felt like fall in NH cold, but by the time I started running around 9ish it had warmed up a bit. Just enough for the perfect fall run. I tried to hydrate a lot on Thursday and Friday leading up to race day because I know I don’t drink enough water when I’m not sitting at my desk (and I’ve been out of the office for the past month) but I believe I did a good job staying hydrated. After about two miles I came across a water stop but was feeling strong so I didn’t stop. I honestly don’t think it would have helped any if I had, but by the time I got to the water stop around the 4th mile I was more than ready for water. At most of the water stops they also had oranges, bananas, bags of chips, and GU packets which was a great way to get a little pick me up. Overall it was a great time and I left feeling very proud of myself. I think the 10k distance is my distance, this was longer than a 10k, but just enough. I feel like during a 5k I don’t have time enough to warm up to my full potential and anything longer than 6 miles I have trouble holding on until the whole time. Granted if I properly trained maybe a half marathon would be my distance, who knows. I have a couple of fun 5ks coming up that I’m looking forward to and then still trying to decide whether or not to run the Sole of the City 10k again. It unfortunately is on April 16th and we have a big party on April 15th every year to celebrate a special day. So I will have to ponder on that idea a bit since I really wanted to try and do the B3 challenge, but maybe 2016 just isn’t the year.

IMG_3969IMG_3970

Leave a Reply

