I survived

I survived my first Saturday at work! Two weekends ago we were told not to come in because it had been a slow week and we didn’t get all the work we were supposed to from clients. Since Mary was coming into town this past weekend I was hoping for the same, but knew that I had plenty of work that I could be getting done. On Friday we had an official Busy Season Happy Hour at work, I will attend any happy hour that is official (means they pay for it) and has food. I didn’t stay long because I knew I had to pick Mary up from the airport and still needed to clean my room before I left. While we were there we got an email from our managers telling us we did need to come in on Saturday. Not a big deal I had told Mary ahead of time I would probably have to work and I left her with my house key and some directions for where she wanted to go.

I had gotten work on Friday afternoon so knew that was what I could start working on, on Saturday. I wanted to get to the office at 7am, but unfortunately that doesn’t work for me. I am still at the stages where I need help with somethings and my direct supervisor shows up later to work. He works better working later when there are fewer people around and I unfortunately work better get my stuff out-of-the-way in the morning.

I ended up getting to the office around 8:30 and was greeted by some Dunkin Donuts. If you have to work on a Saturday at least there is DDs there 😉 I was realllllly looking forward to some dunks so I made sure to enjoy some. I worked hard because I wanted to get back home to enjoy my company and ended up leaving the office at 2:00pm. A little later than I would have liked, but I had a lot to get done. I still had plenty of time to lounge around and gossip with Mary. I am so glad she was in town for the weekend and can’t wait to make a trip to Boston….strictly for pleasure, no work!

Leave a Reply

