weekend roundup: family time edition

If you’ve been following along for more than two seconds you probably know that I lived with my aunt and uncle this summer while I transitioned into real adulthood (read: moving into my apartment). So for the past two months and change I have been having nonstop family time and I liked it. I got to know my cousins on a different level and my aunt and uncle have been a godsend on multiple occasions. Well we continued the family time this past weekend when we celebrated my grandfathers life. Five years ago he passed away so we all got together (minus a couple) to remember him (not that we don’t do that everyday anyways). We left SUPER early on Saturday morning, but first lets back up to Friday night.

Friday my roommate and I spent the day cleaning and organizing our apartment. She didn’t have power in her room, bathroom and our living room. We had an appointment with the Comcast people, but we didn’t know if they would be able to set up anything because of the power outage. Well we were correct, they couldn’t do anything and we couldn’t get to our fuse box because it is in the barber shop in front that we don’t have keys to. OH WELL. So we made a quick trip to IKEA and Best Buy and then I headed back to my aunt and uncles. Friday night we went to see Bugs Bunny at the Symphony. We had lawn seats and packed a picnic basket FULL of cheeses and wines. The movie was shown on a big projection screen outside and the National Orchestra played the soundtrack. It was really cool and so different than anything I had ever see. It was a great time, but we were all exhausted when it was finished and made it back home around 11:45pm.

IMG_1932 IMG_1934 IMG_1938 IMG_1941 IMG_1942

Flash forward to 4:45am Saturday morning and I was up ready to go. I knew we were leaving at 5am so I gave myself just enough time to throw on clothes, go to the bathroom, and brush my hair – teeth – and wash my face. We hopped in the car and were on our way. At 8am we made a stop for donuts. We stopped in Kutztown, PA at the Frying Dutchman. IT WAS SO GOOD! And tasted just like the Fractured Prune that we all hit up in Dewey Beach during senior week. I got a Caramel Vita donut and a PB Cup donut. I liked the Caramel Vita one best and probably wouldn’t get the PB Cup again, it was just to peanut buttery. By 12:20 we arrived at my grandmothers house and just hung out for a bit before mass. At 4pm we had a mass said for my grandfather and then headed to my great uncles house for dinner. It was so nice to catch up with everyone and just laugh. We are a big game family so we played numerous games of bananagrams and I talked a lot about work and apartments. Since I am the first grandchild to become an adult everyone is interesting in the goings ons.

IMG_1948 IMG_1949 IMG_1950 IMG_1952 IMG_1954 IMG_1955

Sunday we had a relaxing morning at my grandmothers and then decided to hit the road first. Before though we needed to get my bed out of my grandmothers garage. Unfortunately it is missing one side railing, but that can be an easy fix I just gotta make a trip to the store to get one. We also fit in my new futon and a chair that my uncle wants to get fixed. It was a tight squeeze in the car, but we made it work and were back in MD before dinner. It was a great weekend with great people and I wish we all lived closer so it could happen more often. PS HAPPY BIRTHDAY YESTERDAY TO MY BABY BROTHER. HE TURNED THE BIG 1-4.

Leave a Reply

