Cousins

I swear I could write a book with the stuff my cousins say. Sometimes they are just hilarious. Last week my aunt and uncle asked me to pick up my cousins from daycare so they could enjoy a date. I gladly excepted and knew the first thing out of my 7-year-old cousins mouth would be, “can we play monopoly?” I was right, the minute I walked into his room that’s what he asked. I told him I had a surprise for them and we could play when we got home. We got the other one and headed to the car. When we got to the car I told them we were going to McDanks for dinner and Baskin Robbins (courtesy of a BOGO coupon) for dessert. They were thrilled, I mean what kid doesn’t love McDonalds and ice cream.

Not five minutes after we sit down the youngest one says he has to pee. Uh what, can’t you hold it?? NOPE. So we had to pack all our food up and head to the bathroom. He wanted to go to the boy’s room I was mean and made him go to the girls, hey I wasn’t gonna let him go in by himself and I was not going to leave his brother sitting by himself at the table. I guess that’s what it’s like to go out with only one parent and multiple children.

So they finished their meal when we hopped back in the car and we headed for ice cream. After ordering all our cones we found a table and got to eating. The youngest looks at me and says “this is the best day ever.” Gee thanks kid I barely did anything, plus I was just happy I got to put off Monoploly for a while 😉 We finished our ice creams, wiped our faces (that was mostly the 5-year-old) and hopped back in the car.

On our car ride home (mind you it was only 5 minutes…MAX) I was asked about the house I was going to move into. After the conversation the other night about it I figured they might ask to come visit. NOPE! I was asked if I would have toys for my kids. UH HOLD UP. There will be no children there, just me and my roommate. Then they say well when you have kids will you have toys for them. First step boyfriend. I said if I had kids yes I would have toys for them, but who knew if I would have kids. They said I would, then I said I needed a husband before I had kids. They also said I would have one of those, phew that’s a relief thanks for the insight kids!

Finally we arrived home and it was monopoly time. Every time we play this game it lasts hours, I am not even kidding. 2.5 hours is our average, sometimes more, sometimes less. It is brutal. I have figured out how to win easily, but when I do it isn’t a pretty sight. One time I was yelled at, hey if you don’t want to play with me again that’s fine it frees up 2.5 hours of my time on Fridays and Saturdays. Yes the weekend, when I first moved in we were playing everyday I couldn’t take it, I had to limit it to two days a week when I wasn’t getting home from school exhausted. This has worked out well. Well that’s about it for the children’s stories.

Sorry for the rambling mess.

Leave a Reply

