Pulled Pork

So remember that time I said I made pulled pork? Well now I am back with the recipe! I unfortunately didn’t take any pictures, but that’s okay. Again it is another crockpot recipe, and it will be made again.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pork shoulder or butt (bone in or out)
  • 1 bottle BBQ sauce
  • 1 bottle root beer
  • 1 bottle dark beer

Directions:

  • Cut off most of the fat from the pork
  • Place into crockpot and cover with beer and root beer
  • Cook on low for 8 hours*
  • Drain the liquids
  • Shred the meat and cover with BBQ sauce
  • Add more sauce as necessary

*I didn’t have 8 hours to cook for so I put it on high for 2 hours and then low for the remaining 4.

I was a little unsure how this whole thing would go. For some reason I was nervous about cooking meat in the crockpot. You would think I wouldn’t be worried, it literally cooked for 6 hours, but I was still afraid. It ended up being so delicious. Since it was the first time I cooked it I am sure there are little improvements that can be made. I look forward to playing around with the recipe and seeing what I come up with. I know there are also recipes that include vinegar instead so I am interested in testing that out too.

Leave a Reply

