the future

I haven’t talked about it on the blog much because I am the type of person who HATES when people get extremely excited about things, and get worked up and then nothing comes of it. I mentioned earlier in September/October that I had been busy applying to jobs. I decided that I would apply to jobs and if I didn’t get anything I would just go back to school. So as I went into the job applying process I was a little more relaxed because I had a back up plan.

Well since that time I have had three interviews. One two weeks ago and two last week. I am still waiting to hear back from two other companies as well. I didn’t want to say anything because I didn’t want to get my hopes up or let anyone down. Now that my interviews are over I figured I would share. Going into my interviews I was not nervous, which I usually am in these types of situations. I think most of that reason is for my back up plan. I know there is something else for me, I don’t have to move back home to NH. Let’s be honest, that would be miserable.

My first interview was/is probably my most concerning one. I really enjoyed the company when I was doing my research and was looking forward to the interview. I haven’t heard back yet and I do not know when I will, but after I left my interview I was a little let down. I had a great discussion with the greeter (he sat in the waiting area and chatted up all the applicants) and wasn’t nervous one bit. We had a lot to talk about because he had gone to boarding school in NH too, just for his PG year. He also knew someone who worked at the ski mountain (the name didn’t seem familiar) so it became an even smaller world. Once I got into the actual interview I was in there for no longer than 10/15 minutes. I know you are all thinking, wow that is short, I thought the same thing! The interviewer asked only closed answered questions and was straight to the point, no conversation. I am not sure if this is because she knew the minute I walked in I wasn’t right for the job or what. Good news is someone else who interviewed for the job was only in the interview for 7 minutes. So I have him beat by a couple of minutes. Ultimately it just felt like a weird interview.

My second interview was better. I sat in the waiting area with another greeter who just happened to attend Loyola and had graduated in 2011. I had met her at a bowling event for the honor society that I am apart of so it was nice to see a familiar face. This interview took the entire 30 minutes! I met with a manager who actually works in the Tax department, but I am going for audit. He was very friendly and conversation came easy. I actually left the interview feeling like some of the answers I gave actually made me look bad, but it turns out it didn’t. I have a second interview at the company’s office at the end of October. A lot of other people I know had interviews for the same company so it makes me excited, I was not expecting to hear back about a second interview this early!

My third interview was probably my best. There was no greeter this time, but the interviewer made up for that. She was extremely nice, very bubbly and she made me want to work for this company even more! Unlike the other interviews she started off by telling me all about the firm and what would happen if I was going to work there. She actually answered most of my questions within the first 10 minutes so I was left with little to ask. Her questions were basic and they flowed a lot more like a conversation then the first interview I went to. She explained when I would hear back which none of the others did and I really appreciated that so I wouldn’t be panicking not hearing back within the next week.

All of the companies I applied to are here in Baltimore so it will be interesting to see what happens next. One nice thing about the accounting field is, I don’t necessarily have to stay in one place for the rest of my life. I can move after a couple of years if that is what I want.

2 thoughts on “the future

  1. Pingback: Friday Roundup | the kats meow

Leave a Reply

