DC

On Sunday we headed into DC. I cannot believe that in the past three years I have been at Loyola that I haven’t been to DC yet. When I heard that Dan, Dawn, and the kids were going to be in DC I figured this would be the perfect opportunity to go. I talked to Mary and we decided we should all go since Nora was here visiting.

 

We knew we wanted to go to the Holocaust Museum and Georgetown Cupcakes. Tickets to the museum are free, so we figured we would reserve them ahead of time. Well online you could only get tickets for June, July, and August. We also knew that we wouldn’t make the 10am ticket time because of our train. It just happened to work out that Dan and Dawn were planning on going to the museum that day as well so I asked them to pick us up tickets. They are amazing and did just that, with an early time too! We had tickets for 11:45am which was perfect timing.

 

We spent about an hour and a half in the museum and I probably could have spent some more time too, which is different because I am not a museum person. Before we went in the museum we walked over the Washington Monument, after the museum we continued to walk to the WWII Memorial, and then over towards the White House. We grabbed lunch at PotBelly Deli which was yummy.

 

Our next mission was the cupcake place that stars in the TLC show DC Cupcakes. We knew we would have to wait in line, but it was so hot out that it seemed unbearable at times. After about a 45 minute wait we finally made it in the door. I got a peanut butter fudge and a cookies and cream cupcake. Both cupcakes were okay, but I am not sure that I am 100% satisfied. After we got our cupcakes we hopped in a cab to nearest metro and then took the metro to the train station. We were two hours early for our train so we ended up getting on an earlier train and home at an earlier hour which was perfect! It was a beautiful day in DC and I can’t wait to go back!

3 thoughts on “DC

  1. Were the cupcakes better than the ones in East Haven? Next trip to DC go to the Lincoln Memorial and the Jefferson Memorial. Also the Vietnam Wall is a moving experience. The Spy Museum is something I think you’d enjoy. D&D were sorry that they couldn’t spend more time with you. He even said that going with someone else cut into things (including seeing C&A) they’d like to have done! I told him that’s another reason I’ve decided I don’t like tours.

    Going to Vero Beach on Sat. Be back on Fri. the 27th. Don’t know if I’ll be able to access anyone from their computers. Poppy could. I’ll have to ask him for help if I have a problem. XXXXXX000000

    • I have seen all of those museums when I came in 8th grade! I was sad I didn’t get to spend more time with them, but it was so crazy even trying to find them to get the tickets and they were doing their own thing.

  2. Pingback: Bye Bye Bye 2012 | the kats meow

Leave a Reply

