new years resolutions

It’s that time of the year again. Time for everyone to state their new years resolutions, attempt them for a couple of weeks and then have them fall by the wayside. At least that is what will happen to the majority of people. If you are a college student you will probably start going to the gym, until March when spring break hits. Then your job will be done and you will have accomplished the ideal beach bod for spring break 2012.

I hate making resolutions because I usually never stick to them and that is nobodies fault, but my own and I realize that. Except I want this year to be different. I am getting older and I need to start making changes in my life. As my boss stated the other day when asking if I wanted to start teaching adult lessons; you will be one of us very soon Katherine. Well that scared the crap out of me. Yes I am aware, I am more than half way done with my college career. In a year and a half I will graduate and have to join the workforce, I pee my pants every time I think about it.

So this year while trying to make things different I am first starting by knowing exactly what the definition of a resolution is. According to the my dictionary widget, the definition is, 1. a firm decision to do or not to do something and 2. a formal expression of opinion or intention agreed on. By now I am sure you are all wondering what these resolutions may be, and some of them may end up being a bit corny and “expected” but you will all just have to say is get over it.

My 2012 Resolutions:

  • Get ripped in better shape: Maybe some trips to the gym with my gym buddies Taylor, Jenn, and Kat as well as some outdoor runs and eating better (although who am I kidding the Towson Diner will still be a recurring thing)
  • Run more races: I see some 5ks, maybe some 10ks, and a 20k (ahem Uncle Danny – Labor Day) in my future
  • Start studying for the CPA exam: First step…buying the book.
  • Get a 3.0 for the semester
  • Keep the blog going: because even though I disappear sometimes, I really do love blogging as well as reading all the blogs I do
  • Learn to be a good RA

I think for now that is enough resolutions for this girl. I believe all of these resolutions are obtainable if I put my mind to it and actually take the time to see them through.

Question of the day:

What are your resolutions for the year 2012?

6 thoughts on “new years resolutions

  1. I stopped making resolutions yrs. ago for the same reasons you stated. I never followed up on them! This year I’m definitely going to stick to them! I’ve gained 10 lbs and I am going to lose them! I’ve also almost completely stopped going to the gym after 11 yrs! Got to get back into that habit–only this time on a daily basis & not 3 times a week! If I do that, the 10 lbs. will go away. I know that’s why I gained them! 2012, here I come!!!!!

    Oh, btw, I’m wearing my scarf from Paris!!!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    And don’t forget, wine, liquor and beer, are empty calories!!!! XXXXXXXX00000000

  2. Pingback: my life has been crazy recently « the kats meow

  3. Pingback: WOW « the kats meow

  4. Pingback: Good Friday « the kats meow

  5. Pingback: I can’t believe its not March « the kats meow

  6. Pingback: remember whensday part 2 | the kats meow

Leave a Reply

