Spag Bol

Our very first week here my roommate Natalie declared she was going to make spag bol. Considering the fact I was still trying to get used to everyone’s accents I couldn’t understand her at first. As she continued to say it I realized she was going to make Spaghetti Bolognese. Spaghetti with meat sauce! About once a week Natalie makes her spag bol and each time Erin and I get a little jealous, well no longer is that an issue. Tonight I made spag bol. Granted this sauce tastes nothing like my grandmothers (if you’re reading, can I get that recipe grammy?) and we didn’t have two different kinds of sausages and meatballs to go with it or garlic bread or antipasta it still turned out decent. I wish it had been more saucy (is that even a word?) but it did the job. I was combing through Sara’s Nosh Student Cookbook and found a recipe for spag bol. I didn’t follow it to a tee because I didn’t have all the ingredients but I worked with what I had.

Ingredients:

1 tbsn oil (used for frying)

1 onion

2 gloves of garlic

250g package of ground beef (or turkey if you prefer)

400g tin of tomatoes

1 tspn mixed herbs (I just threw a bunch in)

spaghetti (I used penne because we didn’t have any spag)

Directions:

1) Chop onion and garlic. Fry in a large saucepan with 1 tbsn of oil until tender

2) Add ground beef once veggies are tender, cook until beef is browned

3) Add the 400g tin of tomatoes at this time. Bring the mixture to a boil and then let it simmer for 10 minutes.

4) Start boiling water for pasta and cook pasta. Right before the sauce is done add in the herbs for extra seasoning.

5) Eat your spag bol and enjoy it.

I find it really hard to believe that I had never made this before considering how easy it was and how quick it came together. I didn’t have to do much. I got chopping on the onions and garlic the minute my stomach started to growl. And in a matter of 30ish minutes dinner was served! Like I said earlier I wish the Bolognese was a little saucier, but I guess that is a lesson learned. This dish will definitely be made again soon! Anyone have any good pasta recipes, we seem to be eating a lot of it here. Annie would be so proud considering she ate pasta everyday often last year.

Leave a Reply

