Edinburgh!!

I finally left the country! I am loving England, but it was time to start travelling. This past weekend we went to Edinburgh. We left bright and early Saturday morning ready for the journey. Our program director had given us an itinerary earlier this week and it said we would get there around 12:30pm. We ended up arriving WAY before 12:30, we actually arrived at 10:30am. We were supposed to meet at the Hollyrood Palace at 3, but until then we had free time. Amy (our director) was planning on going to a ghost tour later that night and once our group got wind of that we all wanted in. The nice thing about this study abroad program is that we get reimbursed for up to 30 pounds for the semester. This only applies to cultural events, but the ghost tour is one of them.

After we bought our tickets for the ghost tour we headed to The Elephant Café. One might ask why we went to such a random café, well this just happens to be the café where JK Rowling started writing the Harry Potter books. We posed for some pictures and were quickly on our way. Our group split up, half went to get lunch and the other half went to The National Scottish Museum. I was in the group that went to the museum and we powered through it. We weren’t really in the mood to go to a museum but we weren’t hungry either.

By the time we got out of the museum it was finally time to go to the Hollyrood Palace. We got our tickets and our audio tours and were free to roam. By this time in the day I started to get a headache so I walked by myself and went in and out of rooms at my own pace. We had all planned to hike after the palace, but I wasn’t feeling it and Erin was getting hungry. The two of us decided to say goodbye to our friends and find a pub to eat in. We had plans to go to The End of The World and thankfully they had seats for us. Not long after we sat we decided we were going to splurge on this meal. That meant dessert as well as dinner, the only thing was the dessert had to be the traditional Scottish dessert.

After we ordered another group of Loyola kids came in, we ended up letting four other people squeeze in our table because there wasn’t a lot of spots left in the restaurant. I ordered the salmon and Erin ordered the steak and ale pie. I really enjoyed dinner and didn’t mind that fact that we had splurged for it, I mean hey I’m on in Edinburgh once (except I think Erin and I may go back to hike up the mountain, the train ride is about an hour and a half and not to expensive).

When dinner was finished we meandered back to the hotel. This hotel was the crappiest hotel ever, in the middle of no where. I was a little disappointed even though I know there was not much we could have done about it.

A quick nap was needed and at 10pm we all hopped in cabs to make our way back the center of the city. Here we met up with our tour guide and went on our ghost tour! I was hoping it would be super spooky and scary, but it wasn’t at all. It was more of a history guide while the guy tried to scare us with his stories. I am still glad I went because I learned so much about the history and about J.K Rowling, but I still wish it had been scarier. At the end of the tour I hopped in a cab with some of my friends and went back to the hotel I was exhausted and ready to pass out!

I didn’t include any pictures because I didn’t have time so I’ll do a post later this week with a bunch of pictures from day one and day two in Scotland! Speaking of day two that post is coming as well!!

Leave a Reply

