Guest Post: Allison’s Delicious Life

Hellllllllllo, today I have a guest post set up from Allison. This post actually appeared on her blog, back in the beginning of her blogging days and we thought it would be a good idea to show it to the world again! So here is her post (and don’t forget to visit her blog: Allison’s Delicious Life),

 

Healthy Snacks for Someone On The Go

I am a HUGE proponent of snacking. It keeps your metabolism going, your brain alert, and your blood sugar from dipping too low. Ok…Let’s be honest, I’m also a fan of snacking because I love food. Why restrict food consumption to designated “meal” times? Meal times are a thing of the past!

As a college student, I am more than familiar with wacky schedules and the need for snacking at inopportune times. Whether I’m stuck studying in the library, in a four hour lab, or just confined to my campus, I always make sure to have some snacks on hand. Without being prepared, it’s all too easy to turn to the fast food joints and vending machines that surround me.

Yes, packing snacks may take more preparation but they will save you tons of money and will be much healthier. Here are some of my favorite snacks that are easy to make, take, and go.

 

CRUNCHY…

Fruit: Buying a banana on campus costs 75 cents, but buying it at the grocery store only costs 14 cents! A banana is easy to throw into your backpack, and you won’t even need to put it in an extra baggie. Other fruits that are easily transportable include apples, oranges, peaches, and berries packed in a tupperware or ziplock.

Veggie sticks: Carrots, celery, bell pepper strips, cucumber. These are easy to munch on and only require a little washing and cutting beforehand. One of my favorite tips is to cut up all my veggies on Sunday (after grocery shopping). That way, during the week I can just grab some and go. Pair the veggies with some cheese or hummus for a more filling snack.

Bars: While most granola/power/energy bars are basically candy bars in disguise, there are a few that I really like. My favorite bar is the Larabar. It is gluten, soy, and dairy free. Typically these bars only contain 3-5 ingredients {dates, dried fruit, and nuts}, but they are so delicious you would never know! The only downside is that these bars can be pretty expensive. I do have a solution for that, though- I make my own! I’ll provide a recipe soon!!

Air popped popcorn: You can buy popcorn kernels on their own (without the added chemicals that come in a bag of popcorn). Pop up some popcorn kernels in a paper bag and add parmesan or garlic powder and red pepper flakes! I also love drizzling some soy sauce on my popcorn, but my friends seem to think it’s strange. If you try it, let me know what you think.

 

CREAMY…

Applesauce: Applesauce doesn’t need to be refrigerated, won’t make any embarrassing crrrrunch sounds when you eat it, and you don’t even need to wash your hands first. Just don’t forget to pack a spoon or you’ll be licking applesauce out of the cup. Been there, licked that. Mott’s even has fruit-flavored apple sauce if you are so inclined.

Laughing cow cheese: This cheese doesn’t need to be refrigerated and is a nice dip for carrots, celery, bell peppers, and cucumbers. I also love to pack a few whole-grain crackers or a piece of bread to eat with the Laughing Cow Cheese.

Peanut butter: My all time FAVORITE peanut butter is Smart Balance Omega-3 creamy peanut butter. I love to pack some in a tupperware with some apple slices, crackers, or rice cakes. Another yummy option is a tortilla with some peanut butter and banana slices inside. You can eat it with one hand while you’re on the go!

Yogurts: If you have a lunch box with an ice pack, or if you have access to a fridge during the day, yogurt is a great, FILLING snack. My favorite is Fage 0% Greek yogurt with some berries on top. To save money, I buy the bigger containers of yogurt (less $ per oz) and spoon some into a tupperware container instead of buying single serving cups.

Hard boiled egg: Boil up some eggs on the weekend and all you have to do is grab one and go during the week. Salt and pepper or tabasco on a hard boiled egg is delicious!

 

STRANDED?! Of course, there are always days where I’m out of groceries or I get to campus and realize I forgot my snacks [this has happened way too many times]. In these cases, there are still ways to stay healthy!

Baked lays: I rarely eat chips, but boy are they tasty! Bags of chips are sold everywhere on campus. If you find yourself craving some crunchy chips, Baked lays are a healthier alternative. Most bags contain under 140 calories and only 3 grams of fat. My favorite flavors are barbeque or sour cream and onion!

Starbucks: Starbucks has a few good options, as well. Their egg white and spinach wrap is AMAZING and packs a whopping 18 grams of protein, 10 grams of fat, and only 280 calories.

Oatmeal: You can now buy oatmeal at a lot of fast food places, including Starbucks and McDonald’s. If you go to McDonald’s, be sure to ask for the oatmeal WITHOUT the added brown sugar. I made the mistake of not specifying, and it was so sweet that it made me sick!

 

This list is by no means exhaustive, and there are countless combinations of healthy foods that you can pack as snacks.

 

Tell me:

What are some of your favorite things to snack on? 

Do you try to pack snacks when you know you won’t be home for a while?

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Allison’s Delicious Life

  1. Pingback: I’m leaving on a jet plane « the kats meow

  2. Pingback: A mini vacation « the kats meow

Leave a Reply

