Lesson Learned

As a teenager growing up in one of the smallest towns known to man (or it felt that way at least) all I wanted to do was get away and stay away. So when I began my college search I chose schools to look at that were a minimum of four hours away. After talking to a college counselor at school I decided to broaden my search, I would now look a minimum of 2 and a half hours away. All in all I wanted nothing to do with going to school in NH, Maine, or Massachusetts (even though I applied to one school there). I wanted to broaden my horizons, learn about a different area, a city, somewhere that had different options for things to do. Where a grocery store was closer than 25/30 minutes away. Where there was a mall closer than an hour away. I wanted somewhere fun, I wanted somewhere that wasn’t Freedom NH.

So when I applied and got into a school in BALTIMORE MARYLAND I was beyond happy. I was getting everything I wanted. Something completely different than Freedom. There finally was a mall within 15 minutes, a grocery store within 10, and restaurants everywhere. I was no longer limited to what I could do! My first semester was amazing and as I headed home for christmas break I was sad, but excited. Yes that’s right excited about returning home to NH. I realized in my first four months of college that maybe I didn’t hate Freedom as much as I thought. Sure I hated not being able to go to the mall on a regular basis or being able to take public transportation (what’s that?). The one thing I didn’t realize was all the things I was missing out on while being in Baltimore, all the things I had taken for granted.

As I flew home that christmas break I remember thinking of all the things I was going to do when I got home. One, visit my favorite store (TJMAXX – still haven’t found one of those in Baltimore yet) and two go skiing. Yes skiing something I definitely wouldn’t get the opportunity to do in Baltimore. At home the ski mountain is a five minute drive away, at school at least two hours. The peace and quiet, there is never a quiet moment when I am at school; whether it is the cars driving past or kids shouting causing trouble everywhere. And in the summer, the lake just a bike ride away and hiking trails all over the place or being able to bike to work everyday, the little things.

As much as I love the city and all the city has to offer, I realized (especially recently) all that I have taken for granted in the past. I know everyone says don’t take things for granted, but it is in our human nature to do that. We aren’t perfect, and taking things for granted is just one of the things we have to work on. In the future I am going to try my hardest to not take things for granted. One of those things being family and home. This past weekend I took the whole weekend off and spent it with my family, something I haven’t been able to do in a long time and I will share some pictures.

If you are someone who just checks in on Tuesday, I had some free time earlier this weekend and published another post on my 5k!

What is something you have taken for granted?
For me it was definitely home and my family. 
Do you live near a lake or a ski area?
5 minutes max for both!
Leave a Reply

