Chocolate Chip Scones

I have noticed that I am starting out my most recent blog posts with the same thing. Taking a break from studying. It sure stinks that during my summer vacation I have to take this class, but you got to do what you got to do. AND I WANT TO GO ABROAD…so this class is just something that has to happen. As well as studying I am currently watching Ultimate Cake Challenge on TLC, I really love this show I wish that I could do the things they do. Anyways onto these delicious scones!!

Chocolate Chip Scones with a Cinnamon Topping
* recipe adapted from Pioneer Woman

Ingredients:

Scones-


1 Cup Chocolate Chips
1 Egg
1 Tspn Vanilla Extract
3/4 Heavy Cream
2 Sticks Unsalted Butter
1/3 Cup Sugar
5 Tspns Baking Powder
3 Cups Flour
1/2 Tspn Ground Cinnamon

Topping-


1 Tspn Ground Cinnamon
1 1/2 Tspn Heavy Cream
1/2 Cup Sugar

Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
2. In large bowl mix all your dry ingredients (baking powder, flour, sugar, cinnamon)
3. Cut the 2 sticks of butter into small pieces and cut into dry ingredients (I didn’t have a pastry cutter so I just used my hands, mildly messy, but totally worth it in the end!)
4. Once the mixture is crummy add in the chocolate chips
5. In a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients (egg, vanilla, cream) once the ingredients are mixed together add to the crummy mix we created in step 4 and combine with fork
6. Move mixture to a flat surface to mold into circle (I didn’t trust my counter top in this moment and used a plate, you can also mold into another shape this was just easiest for me)
7. In another small bowl (or if you want the small bowl you used for wet ingredients) mix together the ingredients for the topping
8. Put topping on the molded scones, once completely covered cut into wedges (if you made a rectangle then triangles)
9. Move to your cooking sheet (I used a baking sheet) and cook for around 25 minutes
10. ENJOY!!

Steps in Pictures:

STEP 2

STEP 3

STEP 4

STEP 5

STEP 5

STEP 6

STEP 7

STEP 8

STEP 9

STEP 10

STEP 10


As you can see I made some adjustments. The original recipe from The Pioneer Women called for cinnamon chips and I used chocolate chips so that is another adjustment you could do. I also used cinnamon sugar instead for the complete ground cinnamon and it didn’t make a difference OR if you didn’t want to use cinnamon at all in the scones that would also work fine. Last but not least I ran out of heavy cream when I made the topping so I used milk, skim milk to be exact. Once again everything worked out fine so I think the next time I make these I will omit the heavy cream and just use skim milk. Well I hope you enjoy this recipe because I sure did and they were a crowd pleaser in my apartment, everyone who came in to visit couldn’t keep their hands off them!

Leave a Reply

