White Chocolate Brownie Cheesecake

I am currently taking a break from my accounting book to write this post. As well as accounting on my brain I struggled for at least an hour to activate my phone and I finally just got it activated. Feels good to have phone that won’t freeze every five minutes like my old one.

A couple of weeks ago while I was still at Loyola I decided to make a cheesecake. I am going through a cheesecake phase. I love it and I really like experimenting with it. So after two finals one day when I couldn’t nap I decided what better way to use my time then make this cheesecake. Unfortunately this cheesecake did not come out the way I had hoped and I fortunately know exactly why. I being sometimes lazy tried to configure a step. When I was at the grocery store I saw cooking cream. Yes cooking not baking, that was my mistake. I figured, oh this will be great it won’t be as hard to blend…there is a reason for that it is not meant for cheesecakes and baking. Well even though this cheesecake did not work out the way I wanted, I am not discouraged from trying again! Here’s the recipe:

Recipe adapted from Tickled Red

Ingredients:

1 box of brownie mix (as well as all the eggs, oil, and water you need for the mix)
1 cup caramel sauce (about 1 cup, its up to you)
12 oz white chocolate chips (I used Dolci Frutta hard chocolate shells)
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 1/2 lb cream cheese (not cooking cream cheese!)
1/4 cup confectioner sugar
2 tspn vanilla extract

and a spring-form pan

Steps:

Brownie Steps:
Step 1: Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
Step 2: Mix all of the brownie mix with the eggs, oil, and water
Step 3: Once combined pour into spring-form pan
Step 4: Bake in oven according to the back of brownie mix box
Step 5: Once brownie is cooled a little, pour the caramel sauce over the brownie until it is completely covered

White Chocolate Steps:
Step 6: Over medium heat stir together the cream and white chocolate chips
Step 7: Stir constantly until everything is smooth
Step 8: Place in fridge to cool while you make cheesecake filling

Cheesecake Filling Steps:
Step 9: In a bowl combine cream cheese, confectioner sugar, and vanilla extract
Step 10: Once all blended together add the cooled white chocolate mix
Step 11: After all combined add to brownie and caramel bottom

Step 12: Cover pan and refrigerate for at least 24 hours
Step 13: Add anything you want on top, I added caramel and chocolate sauce!

Steps In Pictures:


Steps 1-3:

 Steps 6-8:

Steps 9-10: 

This is where I went wrong. Cooking cream is a no go!!

I hope if any of you try this you have better luck than I did. I’m hoping the next time I make it, it will come out a little better. Well ENJOY and keep your eyes out for a post about scones soon! They are a new fan favorite of mine. 


3 thoughts on “White Chocolate Brownie Cheesecake

  1. I always make silly little mistakes like that. What's great about them though is that you truly learned the chemistry of it all and actually get to see why certain ingredients need to be left and why some can be omitted. Cheesecake in and of itself is a hard baked item to make! Practice makes perfect! I can't wait for the scone recipe. Ethan's mom and I made a really yummy pumpkin scone last fall while trying to recreated the Starbucks scone. I think ours turned out even better!

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: What’s Justine Cooking? « the kats meow

  3. Pingback: 100th Post! « the kats meow

Leave a Reply

