invisible children and creamy crispy shrimp pasta

First I want to start of my blog by talking about Invisible Children. Invisible Children is this great organization of people who are trying to stop Jospeh Kony’s rebel war by informing people about what is really going on. Something I really want to participate in is Speak Out By Not Speaking. On April 25th people will be silent for 25 hours each hour representing the number of years this rebel war has been going on for. As well as being silent you must raise $25 dollars, doesn’t seem like a lot right? Well when there are thousands of people doing the same thing millions of dollars can be raised to help these children and people of Uganda. If you want to learn more visit the Invisible Children website.

On another note (continuing with my food blog) I created a not so great dinner. It tasted fine, but I was hoping for more and I was a little disappointed. The next time I try this I am going to cook the sauce for longer so it is not as liquidy because lets be honest who wants liquidy pasta sauce….no one.

Ingredients:

1 lb peeled, deveined and tails removed raw shimp.
4 oz fettuccine
2 tbsp flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper
1 1/4 cups chicken broth
1/2 cup whipping cream
1/2 tsp cajun seasoning
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp butter

Steps:

1. Start by seasoning shrimp with the salt and pepper. While you are doing this turn on your skillet and let butter and olive oil melt in skillet.
2. Toss shrimp with flour so they have a base coating.
3. Cook shrimp in the skillet once it is hot, flipping shrimp after 2-3 minutes.

4. Once the shrimp is cooked remove it to another plate, boil water and cook fettuccine as said on the box.
5. In the skillet pour in the chicken broth, stirring occasionally.
6. After the chicken broth has been cooking for 5 minutes add the whipping cream.
7. Stir the whipping cream occasionally until it is warm and bubbling.
8. Add in any seasoning you want, cajun works the best.
9. Cook sauce until it is to the thickness of your likeness.
10. Combine the shrimp, fettuccine, sauce and serve.

I wasn’t as pleased with this recipe as hoped, but I do plan on trying it again. Once I get the sauce just right I know this plate with be a hit with everyone. Good luck and enjoy dinner!
4 thoughts on “invisible children and creamy crispy shrimp pasta

  1. Oh this is calling my name. I love anything with crispy shrimp, noodles and/or cheese. Was the only reason you were not as pleased with it because of the sauce? I always find that I am my own worst critic and can never seem to be fully satisfied with my dishes.You could also try seasoning you shrimp with the cajun seasoning that you added at the end, in addition to the s+p that is!Anyways, this looks delish and you've made me want to make it! Thanks for sharing Katherine!

  2. Pingback: Flops in the Kitchen « the kats meow

Leave a Reply

